Wagner's Tiffany Hanna Earns NEC Female Team Student-Athlete of the Year Award, Presented By Provident Bank - Northeast Conference Skip To Main Content


The Official Site of the Northeast Conference
The Official Site of the Northeast Conference


Wagner's Tiffany Hanna Earns NEC Female Team Student-Athlete of the Year Award, Presented By Provident Bank



Click Here For Video Announcement

Somerset, NJ -- Tiffany Hanna (Nassau, Bahamas/St. Augustine College (Bahamas)) made it nine years in a row for Wagner.

The three-time Northeast Conference women’s track & field event champion has won the NEC Female Team Student-Athlete of the Year Award presented by Provident Bank, marking the ninth consecutive year that a Wagner Seahawk (male team or female team) has earned the NEC’s most prestigious individual honor.

Sponsored by Provident Bank, the NEC uses the Student-Athlete of the Year Award to annually recognize individual excellence in both the academic and athletic realms as well as leadership and contributions to one’s community.
Hanna was chosen out of a pool of 10 finalists from across the NEC's core membership. The Conference will announce the NEC Male Team Student-Athlete of the Year presented by Provident Bank on Thursday, June 24.

The NEC Female Team Student-Athlete of the Year Award punctuates a four-year resume that features multiple outstanding achievements in both the athletic and academic realms.

Hanna set three Wagner women’s track & field records during her time on Grymes Hill. The Bahamian-born thrower owns the Seahawks’ top all-time marks in the hammer throw, the weight throw and the discus. Hanna thrice earned the NEC Women’s Track & Field Most Outstanding Field Performer (Throws) Award, capturing the honor at the 2019 and 2021 NEC Outdoor Championships as well as the 2020 NEC Indoor Championships.

This past May, Hanna single-handedly scored 23 points at the NEC Outdoor Championships. The senior won the third NEC gold medal of her career by out-classing the rest of the field in the discus. Hanna settled for runner-up honors in the hammer throw and placed fourth overall in the shot put.

Arguably more impressive than her athletics exploits, Hanna’s work as an Economics major has resulted in multiple prestigious honors. While also completing minors in English and Mathematics, Hanna graduated with a 3.98 grade-point average. The four-time NEC Commissioner’s Honor Roll qualifier received Wagner College’s Dr. Donald W. Spiro Award, which recognizes the recipient for outstanding academic and co-curricular achievements. The Spiro Award is considered the most prestigious honor awarded annually at Wagner College Commencement.

At the conclusion of the 2019-20 academic calendar, Hanna secured Wagner’s Douglas Gee Morton Award in Economics for academically outstanding work in her major and as a student of good moral character. One year earlier, as a sophomore, the Dean’s List student won the College’s Distinguished Leader Award.

It was during Hanna’s sophomore year when she engaged in some of her most-satisfying service work. As part of Wagner’s alternative winter break program, Hanna made the inter-continental trip to Africa and worked with Step30 Kenya. Along with her fellow students, Hanna worked to clean the feet of and provide shoes for Kenyan children who were infected with the parasitic chigoe flea. During its stay, the group toured Kibera, the largest urban slum in Africa.

“This [trip] was a defining moment for me,” said Hanna. “It allowed me to recognize and address some of my assumptions about what poverty looks like. Instead of the despair I had expected, I found a community that was thriving with hope and spirit even if it did not thrive with wealth. This trip helped me to understand the importance of love, community and cooperation between people from all walks of life.”

Hanna also experienced an epiphany of sorts that same year at the 2019 NEC Indoor Championships. Despite owning the top seed mark in the weight throw, Hanna settled for a silver medal in the event and displayed visible disappointment at the performance.

“I tried to apologize to my coach [for the performance]. My coach looked at me and told me that I needed to relax in order to reach my full potential as an athlete,” said Hanna. “It allowed me to understand that it all starts in your head. It’s all about your mindset when you step into the circle. I had to focus on getting better and not tearing myself down. When I made that mental shift during my sophomore year is when my performance really started to pick up.”

Later that semester, Hanna went on to earn the NEC Most Outstanding Field Performer (Throws) Award for her efforts at the conference’s outdoor championships.

Her achievements extend far beyond the classroom and the throws circle. Hanna has served a number of organizations in her native Bahamas, including the Persis Rodgers Home for the Aged and the Bahamas Red Cross. She also volunteered for the Bahamas Salvation Army and Doctors Hospital.

During Summer 2020, Hanna interned at The Central Bank of The Bahamas, conducting research on ways to improve financial inclusion in her home country.

2020-21       TBD (male team)               
              Tiffany Hanna, Wagner (female team, track and field) 
2019-20       Jonathan Besselink, Wagner (male team, cross country/track and field)
              Sara Phelan, Saint Francis U (female team, track and field)
2018-19       Evan McDonald, Fairleigh Dickinson (male team, baseball)
              Pascalle Tego, Wagner (female team, golf)
2017-18       Charlton Boyd, Wagner (male team, tennis)
              Dana Davis, Robert Morris (female team, lacrosse)
2016-17       Kyle Mummau, Bryant (male team, lacrosse)
              Brianna Tredway, Wagner (female team, softball)
2015-16       Max Vogt, Bryant (male team, tennis)
              Amanda Lucia, Wagner (female team, swimming)
2014-15       Phil Faccone, Wagner (male team, football)
              Nicole Sleith, Robert Morris (female team, softball)
2013-14       Meredith Ketchmark, Wagner (swimming)
2012-13       Steve Cioicci, Wagner (football)
2011-12       Julia Prantl, Fairleigh Dickinson (tennis)
2010-11       Katherine Bossardet, CCSU (cross country, track and field)
2009-10       Kundayi Mawema, Bryant (field hockey)
2008-09       Alexandra Tomlinson, Wagner (swimming)
2007-08       Tiffany Hahn, Monmouth (track and field)
2006-07       Erika Jacobs, Saint Francis U (cross country, track and field)
2005-06       Joy Gallagher, Wagner (basketball, softball)
2004-05       Beth Swink, Saint Francis U (basketball)
2003-04       Naomi Campano, Mount St. Mary’s (lacrosse)
2002-03       Sabrina Mariani, CCSU (soccer)