Wagner's Tego and FDU's McDonald Receive NEC Student-Athlete of the Year Awards presented by Provident Bank - Northeast Conference Skip To Main Content


The Official Site of the Northeast Conference
The Official Site of the Northeast Conference


Wagner's Tego and FDU's McDonald Receive NEC Student-Athlete of the Year Awards presented by Provident Bank


Long Branch, NJ
- They performed at an elite level in their respective sports, but they were much more than all-conference athletes.

Pascalle Tego, a decorated captain for Wagner women's golf, and Evan McDonald, a baseball catcher who captured Fairleigh Dickinson's Iron Knight Award, put an exclamation point on their accomplished collegiate careers by earning the Northeast Conference's most prestigious individual honor.

Tego and McDonald have earned the 2018-19 NEC Student-Athlete of the Year awards presented by Provident Bank.

55823The NEC uses the distinguished award to annually recognize individual excellence in both the academic and athletic realms as well as leadership and contributions to one’s community. The two winners were chosen out of a pool of 20 finalists from across the NEC's core membership. The Conference also honored all finalists in conjunction with announcing the overall winners.

McDonald, a four-year starter on the diamond, has graduated with a B.S. and M.S. in Psychology and is the Knights' first NEC Student Athlete of the Year honoree since former women's tennis player Julia Prantl in 2012.

While maintaining a high batting average, the .319 hitter saw his grade-point average rise even higher. The four-time NEC All-Academic selection, who posted a 3.73 cumulative GPA, has held membership in the Phi Zeta Kappa, Phi Omega Epsilon and Chi Alpha Sigma Honor Societies.

McDonald's work as a Psychology student has led to a published article on anxiety among college students in the North American Journal of Psychology.

"The article was only the beginning of the research that I will continue in hopes of helping those who are adversely affected by anxiety," said McDonald, who plans on focusing on athletic performance during his future research.

The All-NEC first team catcher has already helped a number of people through his service to a number of community-based endeavors.

From his role in multiple Church-organized charitable activities to working Bingo events for veterans to transporting the physically disabled, McDonald has volunteered large amounts of time helping others. He has also taken on an active role in youth sports, working at Logan Elm Basketball Camp as well as the Kenosha Baseball Biddy Camps.

A SAAC representative for two years at FDU, McDonald played a role in NEC Money Wars competition as well as the Knights' Grow-A-Row program. He was also selected as a Knights Lead Veteran and Emerging Leader.

McDonald, who drove in 122 runs over his four-year baseball career, posted the fifth-highest slugging percentage on the circuit this season en-route to becoming the first Knight since 2012 to earn all-NEC first team accolades in the sport of baseball. The Knights' team captain is the 2019 recipient of Fairleigh Dickinson's George Braun Alumni Leadership Award.

Tego's selection as the NEC Female Student-Athlete of the Year extends Wagner's remarkable run.

The Seahawks have produced a NEC Student-Athlete of the Year award winner for seventh consecutive spring dating back to 2013 when Steve Ciocci, a former offensive lineman for Wagner’s football team, received the honor.

Twenty-six hundred miles away from her hometown of Mexico City, Tego thrived as a student-athlete on Staten Island.

The Mexican-born golfer finished in fourth place on the individual leader board at the 2019 NEC Women's Championship on her way to securing a spot on the All-NEC First Team. The four-time all-conference honoree led the Seahawks with a 77.69 scoring average this past academic year.

Tego, who posted a 3.92 GPA as an Economics major, earned invitations into the Nicolais School of Business Select Program as well as the Student Alumni Association. She has served the Student Professional Association as its President.

The Omicron Delta Epsilon Honor Society member (International Economics) earned Wagner College's Economics Department Award.

Tego's service to the Staten Island community includes working as a teaching assistant in Port Richmond Middle School and volunteering for Project Hospitality, a local organization that delivers food to those in need.

"It was my dream to become a student-athlete even if it meant leaving everything I knew and moving far away from home," Tego said of her adventurous journey to New York City. "As a Seahawk, I learned the importance of determination and persistence."

Tego's dream will continue in the United States with a future at Goldman Sachs.

The Vice President of Wagner's Finance Club was a two-time participant (2017, 2018) in the Goldman Sachs Securities Division's Summer Analyst Program and she is poised to begin a full-time appointment with the firm following graduation.

2018-19       Evan McDonald, Fairleigh Dickinson (male, baseball)
              Pascalle Tego, Wagner (female, golf)
2017-18       Charlton Boyd, Wagner (male, tennis)
              Dana Davis, Robert Morris (female, lacrosse)
2016-17       Kyle Mummau, Bryant (male, lacrosse)
              Brianna Tredway, Wagner (female, softball)
2015-16       Max Vogt, Bryant (male, tennis)
              Amanda Lucia, Wagner (female, swimming)
2014-15       Phil Faccone, Wagner (male, football)
              Nicole Sleith, Robert Morris (female, softball)
2013-14       Meredith Ketchmark, Wagner (swimming)
2012-13       Steve Cioicci, Wagner (football)
2011-12       Julia Prantl, Fairleigh Dickinson (tennis)
2010-11       Katherine Bossardet, CCSU (cross country, track and field)
2009-10       Kundayi Mawema, Bryant (field hockey)
2008-09       Alexandra Tomlinson, Wagner (swimming)
2007-08       Tiffany Hahn, Monmouth (track and field)
2006-07       Erika Jacobs, Saint Francis U (cross country, track and field)
2005-06       Joy Gallagher, Wagner (basketball, softball)
2004-05       Beth Swink, Saint Francis U (basketball)
2003-04       Naomi Campano, Mount St. Mary’s (lacrosse)
2002-03       Sabrina Mariani, CCSU (soccer)