Robert Morris' Dana Davis and Wagner's Charlton Boyd Win Student-Athlete of the Year Awards presented by Provident Bank - Northeast Conference Skip To Main Content


The Official Site of the Northeast Conference
The Official Site of the Northeast Conference


Robert Morris' Dana Davis and Wagner's Charlton Boyd Win Student-Athlete of the Year Awards presented by Provident Bank


Long Branch, NJ - Their multiple all-conference athletic credentials represent only a small portion of their diverse resumes.

Dana Davis, the Robert Morris women's lacrosse team MVP, and Charlton Boyd, the winningest men's tennis player in Wagner history, cap their collegiate careers by earning the Northeast Conference's most-prestigious individual honor.

Davis and Boyd have won the 2017-18 NEC Student-Athlete of the Year awards presented by Provident Bank.

The NEC uses the distinguished award to annually recognize individual excellence in both the academic and athletic realms as well as leadership and contributions to one’s community. The two winners were chosen out of a pool of 20 finalists from across the NEC's core membership. The Conference also honored all finalists in conjunction with announcing the overall winners.

Davis, a Dean Scholar at RMU's School of Nursing and Health Sciences, graduated Magna Cum Laude with a 3.92 cumulative grade-point average. The Nursing major, who has made four consecutive appearances on the NEC Commissioner's Honor Roll, earned induction into the Alpha Chi National Honors Society and the Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honors Society.

Having earned Dean's List status for all eight semesters of her undergraduate career, Davis went on to receive the 2018 RMU Presidential Scholar-Athlete award. In 2017, she won the NEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award for the sports of women's lacrosse. On the field, the two-time captain set the Colonials' career record for ground balls (184) while scoring 102 goals, the sixth most in program annals. After earning NEC all-rookie honors in 2015 followed by an all-conference second team selection in 2016, Davis has spent each of the past two seasons as an All-NEC First Team honoree.

With her achievements extending far beyond the lacrosse field and the classroom, Davis discovered a need amongst the RMU student-athlete community and directly addressed it. The three-time all-conference honoree co-founded the RMU Chapter of Hope Happens Here, an organization that focuses on the mental well being of student-athletes.

"Participating in a research project on the topic of stress and anxiety amongst collegiate athletes, it became apparent to me that RMU student-athletes needed more mental health support. My paper on the topic presented helpful iniatives and served as a building block for the creation of Hope Happens Here," explained Davis.

Davis, who has also served as a volunteer for the MoonCrest after-school program, spent 10 days in Nicaragua this past fall. During her trip abroad, she provided medical care and education to local families in need.

Boyd's selection as the NEC Male Student-Athlete of the Year allows Wagner's remarkable run to continue.

The Seahawks have produced a NEC Student-Athlete of the Year award winner for sixth consecutive spring dating back to 2013 when Steve Ciocci, a former offensive lineman for Wagner’s football team, received the honor.

Boyd adds his name to Wagner's long line of elite student-athletes after making history on the tennis court. While leading Wagner to its first-ever NEC Tournament Championship Match appearance, the two-time all-NEC selection set the program's individual record for single-season victories (27).

Only weeks after he earned a spot on the 2018 NEC All-Tournament Team, Boyd graduated Summa Cum Laude with a 3.983 grade-point average. The double major (Government & Politics / History), who is a four-time member of the NEC Commissioner's Honor Roll, earned his way into a pair of scholastic Honor Societies while earning a slew of academic honors.

Boyd, who belongs to the Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society (History) and the Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society (Political Science), earned a trio of prestigious academic awards from Wagner College this spring. The Louisiana product secured the Phyllis Andors Award (outstanding achievement in government and politics), the Barna Csuros Memorial Award (accomplished student pursuing law school) and the Dr. Donald W. Spiro Award for Outstanding Academic and Co-Curricular Achievement.

In addition to serving as President of Wagner's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee for three years, Boyd was an active member in Wagner's student government organization and rose to the level of Vice President for Civic Engagement. In that VP role, Boyd led the planning and organizational efforts for more than 150 different community service events.

"One of my most fulfilling roles as a student-athlete was facilitating community service events ranging from promoting literacy with children in Port Richmond [Staten Island neighborhood] to organizing bi-annual food, toy and clothing drives," said Boyd.